Visit to Norway and Flødevigen Research Station

Last week, I flew to Norway to meet my colleagues from the Flødevigen Research Station in Arendal. This was our second meeting after the visit to UC-Berkeley, and we worked on the ideas discussed in November, structuring the future paper coming out from this collaboration between Norway and California, in which I am involved.

20160609_102230

View from the Research Station (Flødevigen)

The week was very productive in terms of work. For me it was also an opportunity to come back to the Flødevigen Station, where I worked as a postdoc for 2 years, and catch up with all my former workmates and friends there.

20160611_131057

Mykland landscape (lakes, pine forests and prairies)

During the week, I had also time to explore the spectacular Norwegian woods in late spring, booming with plant and animal life. I went to hike with my friend Arne Flor, a local wildlife expert, in the Mykland forest, some kms north of Arendal, a diverse landscape of rocky outcrops, mixed forests, prairies, bogs and lakes. During our hike, we could find a Great spotted woodpecker nest with chicks and several capercaillie droppings, together with a pine marten scat and several signals of moose presence (tracks, excrements and scratched tree bark).

The most amazing think is to find such a wild  and quiet place 30 minutes away from one of the largest cities in Southern Norway! This is a place worth to come back again and again.

This entry was posted in Meetings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.